One Lovely Blog Award

28 Jul

I am thrilled to announce that I have received the One Lovely Blog Award. Thank you, Laura Maisey, for nominating me. I am so excited and honored! I have been following Laura almost as long as I’ve been blogging. She is witty and smart and her writing encompasses the everyday as well as her life as an academic.

The rules require that I reveal 7 things about myself and nominate 15 other blogs for the award. Hopefully I can think of 7 things of interest…

  1. This is my very first Award and my very first blog… 🙂
  2. I want to be a community college professor after I finish my masters/PhD. Where else can one find such a diverse population of people in all stages of life. Kids just out of high school, older folks returning to school, people planning to transfer, people who don’t yet know what they want to do… Amazing.
  3. Sadly, I’ve never been outside of the United States, something I plan to change as soon as I can.
  4. I dabble a little in drawing and painting. I posted one of my paintings, Bubbles and the Sea. It is also my banner for my blog.
  5. I am extremely afraid of bugs.
  6. I am the world’s worst beer pong player. I’m sure I have an award for that coming soon. I’ve played once in my life while camping with my boyfriend and our friends and I couldn’t make a single cup. Not one! We drank a lot of beer that day.
  7. By the time I die, I want to go on an African Safari, see the Amazon, have a croissant and coffee in Paris, and tea in London.

These are my nominees for the One Lovely Blog Award: (Congratulations!)

  1. Truth and Cake is just a fabulous blog; Rian’s writing is both authentic and eloquent. Her exploration of life is always unique, thoughtful, and fun.
  2. Gaudy is a collection of essays, letters, and other works from two Ivy League alumni. Don’t expect anything less than a delightful mixture of hilarity and what they call a “literary cocktail”.
  3. Words Become Superfluous Amb is a seasoned blogger, celebrating her 100th post coming up. Her blog is bright and full of energy. It reads like you’re talking to your best friend. What’s more lovely than that?
  4. Kristen Lamb’s Blog is a wealth of information from a bestselling author. Her blog is the authority on How-To in the world of social media.
  5. Blissful Basil  I was originally drawn to this blog because of the breathtaking photos of her lavender macaroons, but I stayed for the wealth of recipes, restaurant reviews, and because her site is just gorgeous.
  6. Discoveries in a Letterbox Quirky and original, this blog writes a series of letters to everyone and everything you can imagine. Most recently from an antique phone to an iPhone. It’s creative and fresh, a fun read.
  7. findfabulous The musings of a twenty-something on a journey to find fabulous. She was recently Freshly Pressed and for good reason!
  8. Eideard This guy knows everything! He posts 5+ times a day on current events and politics. His stories are interesting, well-researched, and his commentary, especially regarding Republicans, is always funny. Sometimes, it makes me laugh out loud.
  9. bottledworder When I’m in the mood for a short story, I make my way to this blog. He is truly a wordsmith, creative and talented. His most recent series of posts called The Writer is really worth checking out.
  10. the girl with the blog If you want to laugh, read this. She is hilarious! Sarcastic, biting wit is her specialty.
  11. Welcome to The Motherhood I’m not a mother and I can still appreciate this blog. She’s honest and funny. The blog sheds light on what people don’t tell you about motherhood and marriage.
  12. Tales from the Reading Room is described as “a literary salon where all are welcome”. The Reading Room is an intellectual/book person’s paradise exploring literature in every post.
  13. Lesley Carter‘s blog, Bucket List Publications, is just plain inspiring. If you’re feeling some wanderlust or craving some adventure, live a little through Carter’s jaw-dropping experiences.
  14. Fat Girl PhD follows woman in a PhD literature program on her journey to health and weight loss. She is a wonderful resource for health and diet information.
  15. People, Places, and Bling is a guide to shopping in lovely Paris. Wonderful photos and delicious content. If you are a Francophile like myself, this blog is a must read!

Phew!!

Thank you again for my lovely award!

10 Responses to “One Lovely Blog Award”

  1. litlove July 28, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Thank you so much! I’m really touched and thrilled to be included in your list. Plus I’m enjoying visiting the other blogs you mention here, all of which are new to me. I’m going to be resurrecting a site I ran a few years back, Best Of New Writing On The Web, starting in the autumn, and so it’s great to start exploring this enormous blog world once again… And also many congratulations to you on the award – you DO have a lovely blog.

    • hairsprayandhemingway July 28, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      You’re welcome 🙂 Your posts are wonderful and you certainly deserve the recognition. Congrats! I can’t wait for Best of New Writing On The Web to debut 🙂 That sounds amazing; keep me posted!

  2. Anna July 28, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Congratulations! I love your style of writing! And you’re a natural to blogging. I couldn’t imagine churning out such well-thought out posts when I began in April.
    Thank you for my very first blog award. 🙂 I feel the same excitement 😀

    • hairsprayandhemingway July 28, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Thank you so much, Anna! I am glad we can share in the excitement together. Congratulations!

  3. bottledworder July 28, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Hi Hairspray and Hemingway! Thank you so much. And congratulations on the award. Your blog looks lovely and I’ve started going through the entries. H&H is a very memorable name. As you can tell, I am still very new to not just blogging but the blogosphere. Am I supposed to do something now–for example nominate others? Your list is very helpful here since I’m hoping I’ll get a good sampling of good blogs. Thanks!

    • hairsprayandhemingway July 28, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      Hi! Yes, to accept the award you need to do essentially what I did in my post. Reveal 7 things about yourself and nominate 15 other blogs that you believe are lovely and deserve recognition. Congratulations!

  4. amb July 29, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Jessica my lovely, you’re making me blush. Thanks so much for the kind words and the nomination! xoooox

  5. Theadora August 3, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    Dear Jessica!! Apologies for my late arrival. I’ve been on the road working. Congratulations for “One Lovely Blog” scoop. It’s well-deserved!! I dig you “Hairspray and Hemingway” name. Great illustration, of course! I especially loved your recent “Last Lines in Literature.” post. Favorite first lines would also be an interesting read. Enjoy the weekend!! Theadora (And by the way, thanks for the shout-out!!)

Leave a Reply

Henry's World of Booze

For the impecunious amateur

Office Supply Queen

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

petescully

postcards of the hanging

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

sage atelier

seaside inspired finds to the latest trends in high altitude living

Chef in disguise

Easy authentic middle eastern recipes

bottledworder

easy reading is damn hard writing

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

words become superfluous

...but I use them anyway.

lazylauramaisey

The Adventures of Danda and Yaya

Gaudy

It's the new black.

